You are not your opinion

User Forum Topic
Submitted by scaredyclassic on August 9, 2011 - 7:21pm

Opinions are meant to change. Don't ossify! Try voicing an opinion you think is wrong. Try it on for size. Argue unexpectedly. It's not just lawyerly it's good for your health.

Submitted by eavesdropper on August 9, 2011 - 8:57pm.

walterwhite wrote:
Opinions are meant to change. Don't ossify! Try voicing an opinion you think is wrong. Try it on for size. Argue unexpectedly. It's not just lawyerly it's good for your health.

I agree 100%, scaredy. Excellent post!!

Submitted by eavesdropper on August 9, 2011 - 9:04pm.

eavesdropper wrote:
walterwhite wrote:
Opinions are meant to change. Don't ossify! Try voicing an opinion you think is wrong. Try it on for size. Argue unexpectedly. It's not just lawyerly it's good for your health.

I agree 100%, scaredy. Excellent post!!

Oops!! I was supposed to give an opinion with which I didn't agree.......Your post SUCKS, scaredy!! You don't know what you're talking about, and, besides, how the hell are you supposed to try on an opinion for size anyway.......

Nah, not working. Just can't do it in this case. It IS a great post. Both astute and timely.

Not bad for a lawyer.

Submitted by scaredyclassic on August 10, 2011 - 7:35am.

Easier to try on economic and political issues where people seem to dog on their heels.

A true contrarian should always be ready to turn on anything he thinks he knows.

A new amazing golden age is going to begin soon in this nation!

Submitted by harvey on August 10, 2011 - 7:44am.

Cats are better pets than dogs.

Submitted by DomoArigato on August 10, 2011 - 8:07am.

On a somewhat related topic, I wonder if the market's reaction to austerity has changed anyone's mind?

The Dow Jones Industrial Average closed at 12,132 on August 1st. If I'm recalling correctly, the austerity plan was approved that evening.

Currently, the DJIA is trading around 10,900. That's about a 10% drop in less than a week.

Does anyone on this board who was previously a supporter of deflationary austerity now believe it was the wrong choice due to the stock market's swift rebuke?

Submitted by desmond on August 10, 2011 - 8:34am.

A true contraian does not know he is a contraian at all.

Submitted by NotCranky on August 10, 2011 - 8:45am.

Deflationary austerity is what Jesus would do.You are not your portfolio.

Submitted by scaredyclassic on August 10, 2011 - 8:53am.

It's hard to dig in your heels when you're barefoot

Submitted by KSMountain on August 10, 2011 - 9:15am.

There's no such thing as an "illegal alien". We are all denizens of the same hunk of rock and water that is twisting and orbiting through what so far appears to be a very lonely neighborhood.

Submitted by scaredyclassic on August 10, 2011 - 9:21am.

The market doesn't rebuke. It's just a collection of best guesses. Also the earth is the center of gods universe and he cares about each of us a lot. He will take care of you. Look at the lilies of the valley (pre global warming, although global warming is a myth).

Submitted by DomoArigato on August 10, 2011 - 9:29am.

It's hard to be angry at someone when you are violently disagreeing with them on the Internets while violently agreeing with them in your mind.

Submitted by sdrealtor on August 10, 2011 - 9:48am.

Rent for life! There are no rewards to home ownership.

Submitted by an on August 10, 2011 - 10:22am.

Buying a home with mortgage cheaper than rent is a horrible financial decision.

Submitted by scaredyclassic on August 10, 2011 - 10:57am.

Ok good first effort but I'm going to need more sincerity behind it. Fully embrace your alternate reality. Feel it.

Submitted by sdrealtor on August 10, 2011 - 11:16am.

There is no reason to spend more than $2 on a bottle of wine. Charles Shaw is my HERO!!!!

Submitted by bearishgurl on August 10, 2011 - 11:54am.

sdrealtor wrote:
There is no reason to spend more than $2 on a bottle of wine. Charles Shaw is my HERO!!!!

Since when? ;=}

Submitted by NotCranky on August 10, 2011 - 11:58am.

Rents will be dropping fairly hard by the end of the year.

Submitted by sdrealtor on August 10, 2011 - 11:59am.

BG is my hero too!!

Submitted by bearishgurl on August 10, 2011 - 12:06pm.

sdrealtor wrote:
BG is my hero too!!

sdr, you've simply got to lay off that Shaw during the business day :=/

Submitted by sdduuuude on August 10, 2011 - 12:13pm.

Hey - this thread isn't silly at all.

Submitted by eavesdropper on August 10, 2011 - 2:12pm.

walterwhite wrote:
A new amazing golden age is going to begin soon in this nation!

Okay, scaredy, now you're just being depressing. Knock it off.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.