Black friday: Review of Google Wifi routers and Samsung frontload washer/dryer

User Forum Topic
Submitted by gzz on December 26, 2018 - 1:59pm

Google Wifi is so cool! Just one of them has twice the coverage than the built-in wifi on my old modem.

I got the three pack as part of a Target black friday promo, $236 including tax and shipping. I might give two of them to my parents who have a large rural property.

Setup was very easy, basically plug and play. The app is really nice too, as is the guest network feature. There are also easy-to-use child restrictions that disable their internet for specific devices certain hours of the day.

My second black friday buy was front loading Samsung washer and dryer, $1300 + tax from costco. (Gas was $100 extra). Costco delivery came about 7 days later, fine given the holiday and black friday crush they must have faced. This included removal and setup. They even did the stacking kit despite it not being covered.

They work miles better than my 12-year-old single-unit stacked Maytag that was roughly the same price.

The Samsungs are separate units, and a stacking kit was $25 from Amazon. Stacked up, they are taller with a slightly smaller footprint than the old unit. So tall the controls on the dryer are not fully visible to shorter people.

The washer/dryer are "wifi enabled" so I looked into setting them up. It turns out it requires an app download, registration, and the reviews on iTunes app store of the Samsung smart home software are very negative and hostile, worst reviews of any app by a well known company I have ever seen. So my washer and dryer are going to remain off my wifi.

A common problem with front load washers is mold/must smell. The Samsung unit has a million pinhole drains and is pretty dry one day later. However, some water does collect and not drain inside the rubber around the door and it stays wet there for at least 12 hours after use. So far this isn't an issue.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on December 26, 2018 - 2:46pm.

On front load washers, you should leave the door ajar when not in use.
I stipulate that on my leases because I provide washer/dryers for my tenants. I also have sticker reminders on the washers. “Leave door ajar when not in use to avoid moisture buildup”.

The best washers in term of performance are European washers that heat up the water to the exact cycle temp. They get white towels super white and use less detergent. They also spin faster. But our machines here are catching up on technology.

I think you overpaid on the Samsungs from Costco. Home Depot had the large GEs for $1100 a pair. But the Costco machines may be more premium with more settings you don’t use.

Samsung and LG really upped the game in appliance quality since they entered the US market. Thank you, Koreans!

Was your old router a 5ghz AC router? I use cheap Edimax routers and I connect apartments together using MoCA adapters to provide Internet to my tenants. The cheap Edimax can also do WiFi repeating using the WISP feature.

Submitted by gzz on December 26, 2018 - 4:10pm.

I did a lot of price/quality research and definitely did not overpay. If anything, I was inefficient spending too much time to avoid overpaying.

Keep in mind I have a gas dryer (adds about $100) and also required stackable units as my hookup area does not have room for side-by-side.

GE still makes a small number of high-end appliances in house, but low to medium end are made by Haier in China under license and have serious quality issues.

GE, according to an appliance retailer in New England, has several times the rate of service requests as other companies. Maytag and Samsung seem to be the best for washer and dryer quality. LG is a mixed bag and also makes it much harder to get warranty service if needed.

Home Depot's black friday sale also required hoop jumping: gift cards, paying for any installation materials like the metal gas hose if the old one isn't compatible.

The old modem with built in wifi was whatever ATT provides to residential customers who get internet only, no TV or phone. It didn't give me any signal in the back of my back yard. Google Wifi gives either 2/3 or 3/3 signal in the same spot.

Google Wifi would work great for multiple units as it creates a mesh, and it the cheapest product that does this with an easy setup. It is extremely easy to add additional ones to the network.

A lot of the online reviews are people who tried other methods to provide strong wifi signals to 5000sf houses with thick internal walls, or who have multiple units on one large property.

Submitted by flu on December 26, 2018 - 4:33pm.

gzz,

You did the right thing by buying these at Costco. 2 year warranty + additional 2 years if you charged it on the Costco Visa.

The Samsung front loaders, at least the older generation, aren't as reliable as no-frills top loading washers but you should be fine with the extra warranty protection.

Being space constrained, you really don't have that many choices if you want full size...

I like the really old whirlpool old mechanical top loading machines, because they clean well and they are bulletproof reliable, and when they break down, they are pretty easy to fix.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on December 26, 2018 - 7:25pm.

flu wrote:
gzz,

You did the right thing by buying these at Costco. 2 year warranty + additional 2 years if you charged it on the Costco Visa.


That's good to know. I have never bought appliances at Costco before. The 4 year warranty is worth it for peace of mind.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on December 27, 2018 - 12:20pm.

I watched a review of the google mesh WiFi.
Wow, impressed! It’s probably the best overall product for families. The software is awesome and allows control of the kids’ internet access.

Each unit has 2 Ethernet ports for 1 for internet access and 1 for wired connection.
I wonder if it would work to provide internet to each unit of an a apartment building, and separate SSIDs for each unit which would be wired, and easily manage the bandwidth of each unit in one app.

Submitted by spdrun on December 27, 2018 - 12:23pm.

Mesh WiFi is a poor choice unless you have no other option. If you live in a home that's wired for cable, but not Ethernet, you can hardwire routers over coaxial (via MoCA) and have a rock-solid network that's not based on WiFi reception between nodes.

Also, are you going to stick everyone in the building on the same public IP, without access to a routeable IP, and with you implementing their "parental controls?" Great if you want to snoop on your tenants and control them, not so great for the tenants.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on December 27, 2018 - 12:35pm.

I already provide free internet to the tenants who want it over MoCA. Each unit has separate WiFi router. It’s free and a courtesy, not a benefit. It’s unmanaged now and there are no problems with the shared gigabit connection. Don’t plan to change.... just thinking.

I don’t have the skills or inclination to snoop. I am only knowlegeble enough for the basics.

Submitted by gzz on December 27, 2018 - 1:49pm.

Flyer, there are a lot of neat options in the app, such as seeing the bandwidth used by each device. I suppose you could set up a main and guest network for each unit. It wasn't clear if more than a main and guest network could be set up. I also don't know if it has remote management. I use the app and bluetooth has to be turned on my phone to do so.

Overall the big value is people who want the easy access to advanced options, and who simply want a single big-range and strong network, not a bunch of random wifi routers with different logins, which is the standard thing people who have one ISP connection over a large area do it.

For people with 2000sf and under on a standard suburban lot, one has plenty of coverage, looks really cool, and has very easy setup and options. But the $80-100 price is a pretty big premium over older ones.

SPDrun: I prefer a wired connection for my main work computer out of habit and principle, but wifi has come a long way and 99.9% of the time you don't notice the difference if the configuration is done right.

I think most of Flyer's units are monthly corporate type rentals. If they really care about security they can just purchase their own connection or use 4G. I think his typical tenant cares about speed, free, easy setup, and prefers to use wifi.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on December 27, 2018 - 10:21pm.

I didn’t know about mesh WiFi. Samsung has a mesh product that includes smart things. I guess a future upgrade for Google would be to build in google home in a combo unit.
I’m all for ease of use, because all the cryptic stuff is Greek to me.

I was one of the ealy adopters of broadband; and back in the day, I knew nothing about networking. 192.168.0.whatever. I think I paid $800 for an early Lucent WiFi access point. Luckily I had a friend who was a nerd. That friend is still my “consultant” with VPN, or whatever he thinks is cool.

Submitted by gzz on December 28, 2018 - 5:43pm.

I used wifi for the first time on my school network circa 2001. Laptops rarely/never had built in wifi then, but they did have large cardbus slots and LAN dongles.

http://g03.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1knziHVXXX...

Submitted by FlyerInHi on March 1, 2019 - 1:19pm.

I bought a new Samsung washer dryer set for a rental, $1100 including tax (open box from Best Buy).
Free delivery for anything over $399.

I was pleasantly surprised that the new machines now have internal water heater, bringing machines in the US market up to global standards.

There are plenty of case studies on how Samsung and LG brought competition and innovation to the appliance market. We all benefit. Despite the tarrifs erected against the Koreans, they shifted production to China, Mexico, etc....

Submitted by flu on March 1, 2019 - 2:38pm.

I am afraid that these samsung washer and dryers are expensive POS that will eventually break down and cost you several hundreds of dollars to replace their circuit boards or electronics, that arguably (according to consumer reports) don't really clean that much better than other top loading washers and dryers.

Meanwhile, your run of the mill, no frills Whirlpool mechanical top load washer does an excellent job of cleaning and will last about 20+years. And when it does break down, usually is a stupidly simple $20 or door switch or mechanical timer or something else like that.

Fact is, companies went stupid when they started to stick so much electronics and software in what would be reliably dumb appliances...in order to make them look "smart", when "dumb" worked just fine...

LG is slightly better than Samsung. After working with the Samsung on how they make phones and tvs, I wouldn't want to touch any of their products....Talk about cutting corners everywhere...

I wasn't surprised when Samsung Note 7 spontaneously combusted. I was surprised (in kinda of a ha ha, that was funny, I didn't think it would be possible sort of way) when Samsung washers were exploding back in 2016...lol...

Hope you bought them at costco with the 2 year extended warranty. I am afraid you will need it.

Never buy new washer and dryers for a rental. It's going to get beaten up. Most new washer and dryers are a lot less reliable than older ones and will break down a lot more times than older ones. Most new washers and dryers are a lot more expensive to repair than older ones. And most of them don't clean any better than older ones... And there's no aethetics to washers and dryers. They are stored in the corners of a room/garage/etc where no one sees them regularly and no one really cares what they look like... A lot of much more reliable preowned washer dryers, at 10cents/dollar because when people move, they don't want to carry them......If you are spending more than $300 on a washer or dryer for a rental (and in some cases $300 total for a full size washer AND dryer), you're doing it wrong. Way wrong.

Submitted by FlyerInHi on March 1, 2019 - 2:47pm.

Humm. I haven’t had any problems with washers in years. We will see.
I like my condos to look urban, modern and up to date. That’s my niche market.

For years, I had a Swedish Asko in a studio rental. I have stayed there myself and I love the machine. Here’s a good test. Ask your wife to wipe all her make up off on a white towel. If you wash it in a front load with internal water heater, the towels come out snow white.

Submitted by gzz on March 2, 2019 - 8:11pm.

My space requires stacking units. My old all merchanical one I purchased used wasn't very good, and I like the Samsung ones better so far. When it broke the repairman said he couldn't fix it. It plays music when a cycle is done rather than an awful buzzer that was so loud I disabled it.

I have several Samsung 21 inch 1600x1200 monitors from 2005 still working great after 13 years of being on 40 hours a week. I got them all on ebay used in 2010 from a Florida court that was selling them. I like the 4x3 ratio better than wide screen, but it 4x3 monitors haven't been manufactured for many years.

I also have a bunch of HP 2465 1920x1200 monitors, maybe 9 total. They are 16x10 which is at least better than 16x9 that is more common. They have manufactured dates between 2006 and 2008 and also have never once failed. One HP 2475, which is supposed to be slightly better, did fail. Finally I have one 2560x1600 Dell 3007wfp from 2007. It was about $1500 new, and $700 when I purchased it used in 2009. The panel is either LG or Samsung.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.